Glossy Eyeball

Bulbous and glistening in the light.

As you’ve probably noticed by now I’m always scribbling something somewhere. If this year has been good for anything it’s just that. It’s also a trend I foresee a continuation of, which is an incredibly good thing as I’ve been itching to do some new things here and there. That could also be where one of the cats bit me the other day- only time and possible infection will tell!

Curse these annoying itches and their itchiness.

This is a return to the delicious monstrosities of Doom (2016) in the Revenant. A ghastly cybernetic abomination who seems to have wires poking through their skin in all manner of places- even their intestines- which is probably awful for their digestion. Not that I’m sure they eat anything any more. However, unlike recent pieces, I went for a style quite unlike anything I’ve done before. Inspired by the sketchy rough-yet-detailed style of the original Guild Wars’ concept art which I’ve always loved.

This makes it something that’s quite difficult to talk about as I can’t really say what it’s supposed to look like. Or how it’s supposed to work. I’m pretty much going through this one completely blind while assessing the results as I go, making changes where necessary, and trying all manner of new things in the process. Not that it’s ever a bad idea to try something that you’ve not tried before. In fact, it’s been quite the learning experience for me as to what my digital style will likely end up being. I’ve always loved mixing colours on the canvas. This version of that is much more versatile as I can continually experiment with colours, brushes, and other elements and easily revert any unsatisfactory changes.

Look at those pearly whites.
Look at those pearly whites.

The lack of understanding (and/or confidence) in my digital style has definitely been a problem with these pieces. I initially felt it was a matter of having more experience with traditional materials, which it is to a certain degree, but it’s also that I’m more confident with what I’m going for with traditional materials, and so an understanding of my digital style is great.

I’ve also been questioning whether I should share this work in progress.

There are already a couple of work in progress Tweets over on Twitter detailing where the piece started and how it has evolved. However, I did say that I wanted to bring more interesting creative posts to Moggie’s Proclamations. Those Tweets don’t explain my thoughts and methodology behind the piece, either. You might think I’ve gone plum crazy. Not that I think I’d ever go crazy for plums. Watermelons perhaps- but not plums. I’m also not entirely sure when this piece will be finished (or if it will ever be finished) and so I thought I’d share what I have.

If I have anything to say about this piece it’s that it’s unique. I honestly can’t say I’ve ever done anything like this before. It’s kind of funny but I’ve been through this process with the other materials over the years, and yet, in this case, I’m going through different styles and techniques rapidly. For instance, with pencil, I probably changed styles and techniques a few times over the course of five or six years. With digital that has accelerated to a few times over the course of five or six months. Either I now have a problem with consistency (I need a high fibre diet) or I’m able to visualise new ideas much quicker now. Or I’m not satisfied with anything I do.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

Doom, the UAC, Doomguy, Pinkies, Revenants, and all associated trademarks and devices are owned by id Software.

One thought on “Glossy Eyeball

What's your opinion?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.